Church Council 2022

Chair of Church Council: Ricky Rowe
Lay Leader: Joe Epting
Lay Members of Annual Conference: Dane Waund, Darby Waund, Carol Fowler, Licia Jackson, Grant Jackson
Chair of Trustees: Pete Liggett
Chair of Finance Committee: Eddie Sullivan
Financial Secretary: Robbie Douglas
Chair of Staff/Pastor Parish Relations: Lee Haynes
Chair of Foundation Trustees: Kelly Epting
Recording Secretary: Shelley Stafford
Membership Secretary: Laurely Nance
Church Historian: Mike Broome
Treasurer: Neal Foster
Chair of Communications Team: Lynn Shirley
CDC Board Chair: Marshall Robinson
Faith Formation Coordinator: Sam Waldrep
Community Life Coordinator: Mary Lide
Engaging God’s World Coordinator: Nancy Whittle
Members at Large: Janet Cotter, Jim Apple
Senior Pastor: Becky Shirley
Associate Minister of Nurture and Disciple Development: Alston Lippert
Director of Family Ministries: Mackin Wall
Business Manager: Robbie Douglas
Director of Music Ministries: Nicholas Shumate
Director of Communications: Jane Peterson

The Officers and Staff that are bolded will meet as a Steering Committee to review progress on goals and the implementation of initiatives.

The F.A.C.E. of Washington Street

Faith Formation
Sam Waldrep, Coordinator

Susan Caskey, Interim Chair

  • Wedding Coordinators—Shelley Stafford, Elizabeth Aravena
  • Usher Coordinators—Tommy Betenbaugh (11 am); Jerry Watson (9 am); Susan Luthren (Communion)
  • Communion Coordinator—Cathy Hooker
  • Acolyte Coordinator—Susan Brown
  • Altar Guild—Kathy Wright
  • Visual Arts Coordinator—Sam Waldrep
  • Sound/Video—Lynn Shirley
  • Coordinator of Children’s Moments—Mackin Wall
  • Staff—Rev. Shirley, Rev. Alston, Nicholas Shumate, Jane Peterson

Chairperson: TBD

  • Children’s Church Coordinator: Mackin Wall
  • Children’s Sunday School Teachers: Mary Lide, Kristie Rowe, Mary Ann Betenbaugh, Lee Haynes, Licia Jackson
  • Nursery Coordinator: Shelley Stafford
  • Church Librarian: Carol Krebs
  • Children’s Librarian: TBD
  • Staff: Mackin Wall and Alston Lippert

Spiritual Enrichment
Ann Jessup, Chairperson

Stewardship Team
Christine Hait, Chairperson
Eddie Sullivan, Staff: Becky Shirley, Alston Lippert, Robbie Douglas

Nominations and Leadership and Development
Rev. Becky Shirley/Lay Leader: Joe Epting
Gwen Murphy, Tommy Betenbaugh, Beth Matthews, Shelley Stafford, Eva Nance

Joe Epting/Ricky Rowe

Child Development Center Board
Marshall Robinson, Chair;

Amy Geddes, Jan Jenkins, Kathy Wright, Alisa Liggett, Felicia Yockel (CDC Director), Robbie Douglas (Church Business Administrator), Rev. Becky Shirley,
Mackin Wall (Director of Children & Family Ministries)

Finance Committee
Eddie Sullivan, Chair

Robbie Douglas (Financial Secretary), Neal Foster (Treasurer), Joe Epting (Lay Member), Ricky Rowe (Church Council Chair), Lee Haynes (Chair of SPPRC), Kelly Epting (Foundation Chair); Ed Fisher (Foundation Treasurer); Pete Liggett (Trustee Representative); Christine Hait (Stewardship), Jamie Gerald (Chair of Good Samaritan Committee); Pamela Jenkins (Lay Member), Phil Jenkins (Lay Member); Mike Broome (Member at Large), Ned Self (Asst. Treasurer); Staff: Rev. Becky Shirley

Foundation Trustees
Kelly Epting, Chair
Lanneau Lide, Robert Peeler, Sr., Kelly Epting (2023 Chair), Chip Williams, Melinda Gibson, Ed Fisher (Foundation Treasurer), Eddie Sullivan (Finance Committee Chair), Staff: Robbie Douglas, Rev. Becky Shirley

Staff/Pastor Parish Relations Committee (SPPRC)
Lee Haynes, Chair
Kimberly McAlister, Ann Jessup, Pam Jenkins, Lee Smith, Susan Hefelfinger, Joe Epting (Lay Leader), Carol Fowler (Lay Member), Rev. Becky Shirley

Pete Liggett, Chair
Charles Garren, Pete Liggett, Susan Brown, Ray Cobb, Janet Cotter (Christ Chapel Courtyard Chair), Mike Conte (Memorial Garden Committee Chair), Staff: Robbie Douglas, Rev. Becky Shirley

Lynn Shirley, Chair
Eleanore Langley, Grant Jackson, Jane Peterson

Community Life Teams
Mary Lide, Coordinator

Children & Family Ministry Team
Andrea McAtee, Chairperson
Staff: Mackin Wall

Funeral Visitation Coordination Team
Janet Cotter, Chairperson

May Ramsey, Jean Kanes, Kathy Rogers, Wendy Clark, Ann Fishburne

Gracious Goodness
Mary Lide, Chairperson
Deborah Rowe, Kathy Rogers, Ellen Carruth, Carole McConkey, Charlotte Broome, Penny Horton, Martha Boynton

Raggio Report
Ed McClain, Chairperson
Eleanore Langley, Christine Hait

Records and History Committee
Mike Broome, Chairperson
Christine Hait, Ed McClain, Rozanna Pfeiffer, John Radford, Shelley Stafford, David Williams

Kitchen Hospitality Team
Mary Lide, Chairperson
Karen Lowrimore, Carol Fowler, Heidi Conte

Card Ministry Team
Mary Ann Betenbaugh, Shelley Stafford, Co-Coordinators

Good Samaritan Committee:

Youth Council
Dane Waund, Chairperson
Staff: Mackin Wall, Others TBD

Engaging God’s World Team
Nancy Whittle, Chairperson

Active Faith Team
Deborah Rowe, Chairperson
Carol Fowler, Charles & Kay Garren, Jim Lane, Marcia Lane, Karen Lowrimore, Andrea McAtee, Beverly McClanahan, Rusty Poole, Joby Robinson, Rick Rowe, Sam Waldrep, Marsha & Jim Ward, Diana Westerkam, Kathy Wright

Connections (Evangelism) Team
Cindy Waund, Chairperson
Melanie Johnson, Nancy Whittle, Vickie Voegeli, Suzanne Joye, Debbie Edens, Lee Haynes, Grant Jackson, Sr., Rev. Becky Shirley, Staff: Jane Peterson

Missions & Advocacy Team
Chip Williams, Chairperson
Pato Aravena, Kay Ayers Garren, Emily Caskey, Sue Dillon, Elaine Ferraro (Cooperative Ministry Advisory Council), Andrea McAtee, David Nelson, Beth Robinson (Epworth Representative), Anne Sinclair, Kathy Wright, Staff: Mackin Wall

Racial Justice Action Team
Nancy Whittle, Chair
Jan Baker, Cindy Cox, Sue Dillon, Courtney Foster, Anne Sinclair, Lee Smith, Melanie Dobson, Staff: Alston Lippert

Reconciling Next Team
Jim Lane, Chairperson
Grant Jackson, Jennifer Jackson, Nancy Whittle, Andrea McAtee, Addison Lee, Mackin Wall, Gary Parish (Reformation Lutheran), Rev. Alston Lippert, Rev. Becky Shirley, Jane Peterson

Soup Cellar Ministry Team
Robbie Douglas, Chairperson
Alan Jon Zuppan, Lee Smith, Staff: Terrence Chisolm

Sunday Dinner Team
Lee Haynes, Chairperson
Nancy Whittle, Jane Peterson, Rev. Becky Shirley, Jim Lane, Cindy Waund, Mackin Wall, Terrence Chisolm, Mary Lide, Sue Dillon, Lee Haynes